## Faculty Welfare Committee Meeting

January 15, 2014

In attendance: Bethany Bell, Tommy Hodges, Mike Seaman, Allison Anders, Joe Flora, Eva Monsma, Mitch Yell, Jeremy Searson, Diane Monrad, and Jan Yow

Minutes submitted by: Carolyn Delton

- 1. Approved minutes from December 11, 2013
- 2. Committee recommended that the revised and resubmitted grant proposals from Katie Snyder and C. Spencer Platt be funded; will forward recommendation to the Executive Associate Dean for Administration and Research to process.
- 3. Committee discussed minor revisions to the scoring rubric for College of Education: Research Grants Program A-Publication and B-External Grant Proposal. Faculty will be notified of the new rubrics via weekly COE update and a hybrid link will be added to the document.
  - Committee discussed the mentor requirement for Program B. It was emphasized that the mentor must be a COE faculty member to receive funding. External mentors are permitted, but cannot benefit from the proposal.
- 4. Committee approved the revisions to the criteria for the COE Research Grants Program A-Publication and Research Grants Program B-External Grant.
- 5. Committee made minor changes to the criteria for College of Education Early Career Service Award.
  - Committee postponed the review and decision for changing the Faculty Welfare Committee By-Laws until the February 19, 2014 meeting. Question: Ex-officio member administration?
- 6. APR Process: A suggestion was made to adopt a general college policy that would be aligned and used by all departments. It was recommended that changes to the APR process be made internal within the departments. However, the FWC will work on creating a "best practices" type of document to be shared with College Faculty so that the document can help facilitate discussions within departments.