Faculty Welfare Committee Meeting

February 19, 2014

In attendance: Bethany Bell, Tommy Hodges, Mike Seaman, Allison Anders, Joe Flora, Eva Monsma, Mitch Yell, Jeremy Searson, Diane Monrad, and Jan Yow

Minutes submitted by: Carolyn Delton

Minutes amended by: Bethany A. Bell

- 1. Approved minutes from January 15, 2014.
- 2. The funding amounts for the internal grant programs were shared with the committee via an email that came from the Associate Dean of Administration and Operation. The committee received three proposals under the new guidelines; review should be completed by 28 February 2014 as decisions are due March 15. The latest version of the rubrics will be sent via email.
- 3. Committee discussed faculty awards for adjunct faculty. An ad hoc group will be formed to discuss the criteria; further discussion will be held with the Dean regarding funding.
- 4. The Executive Associate Dean for Administration and Operation provided an overview of the delay in providing suggested revisions to COE By-Laws. Stated that the after reviewing the COE By-Laws, it appeared that the only area that conflicted with University policy was in the wording of the responsibilities of the Faculty Welfare Committee. He will meet with the Dean to finalize the review process and will bring necessary changes to the FWC.
 - a. During this discussion, FWC members also asked the Associate Dean if the administration was informed yet of the Provosts' replacement for Christine Curtis
 no information has been shared with the Deans. This discussion also lead to a discussion on how the COE administration disseminates important information to faculty the Associate Dean reminded the committee that minutes from Steering Committee and Executive Council are posted online for all faculty to review. He also explained how he incorporates information from the Provost's emails into the COE weekly updates.
- 5. Committee discussed and voted on the ex-officio membership issue for FWC (carry over from previous meetings). Committee voted to propose to the Steering Committee that the Faculty Welfare By-Laws will be amended to include two ex-officio members (administration and Faculty Chair).

- 6. Committee discussed the other COE By-Law concerns regarding the requirement that only tenured faculty members can serve as the chair of college committees. FWC member drafted proposed changes to these By-Laws after discussion it was voted on that FWC chair bring these proposed changes to Steering Committee as well.
 - a. In this discussion, FWC members looked at University policies regarding nontenured track (and non-tenured) faculty members serving as chairs of committees. Based on the University policy, non-tenured track faculty cannot serve on Faculty Senate. Other than this, policies are established at the unit level. This lead to differences in COE By-Laws that pertain to COE committees vs. Department By-Laws within COE. As the FWC, we can only suggest changes to COE By-Laws each department has to amend their own by-laws. However, it is possible that with changes at the College Level that departments might adopt similar by-laws.