Faculty Welfare Committee Meeting

April 16, 2014

In attendance: Bethany Bell, Tommy Hodges, Mike Seaman, Allison Anders, Jeremy Searson, Diane Monrad, Mitchell Yell, and Jan Yow

Minutes submitted by: Carolyn Delton

- 1. Approved minutes from February 19, 2014 and March 19, 2014.
- 2. Assigned reviewers for internal grant submissions from April 1, 2014 deadline. Comments from reviewers will be discussed on May 14, 2014.
- 3. The By-Law revisions were sent to the faculty on April 6, 2014 and will be voted on at May 7, 2014 faculty meeting. The document will be presented and the revisions will be voted on as separate items.
- 4. Reviewed and selected 2014 faculty awards winners. The committee did not receive any submissions for the COE Research award. Awards will be presented at the May 7, 2014 faculty meeting.
- 5. The committee will continue to work on creating a "best practices" type of document to be shared with College Faculty so that the document can help facilitate discussions within departments.

The new adjunct faculty and graduate student awards will be discussed further at the next meeting. Should the graduate student awards be Masters vs PhD or one of each?

The review language regarding clinical positions, concepts and definitions form AAUP was for conversation.